• Indson

What is the Solar System? What are the Planets in the Solar System?

Updated: Oct 18, 2021

A solar system is a collection of the Sun, eight planets and their moons, comets, asteroids, meteoroids, and dwarf planets revolving around the Sun. The eight planets revolving around the Sun in a sequence are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.

1. The solar system consists of the sun, the eight planets and their satellites (or moons), and thousands of other smaller heavenly bodies such as asteroids, comets, and meteors.

2. The sun is at the center of the solar system and all these bodies are revolving around it.

3. The gravitational pull of the sun keeps all the planets and other objects revolving around it. Thus, the motion of all the members of the solar system is governed mainly by the gravitational force of the sun.

4. Planets revolve around the sun in an elliptical orbit.

5. In the solar system the planet nearest to the sun is Mercury and the planet farthest from the sun is Neptune (not Pluto).

6. The size of the solar system has been estimated to at about 105 A.U.

7. The solar system is dominated by the sun which accounts for almost 99.9% of the matter in the whole solar system.

8. The sun is also the source of all the energy in the solar system.

9. Pluto is a dwarf planet.

10. Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars are called terrestrial planets, and Jupiter Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are called gaseous planets.

Members of the Solar System

The Sun

1. The Sun is at the center of the Solar System.

2. Its size is thirteen lakh times that of the Earth.

3. It is the nearest star to the Earth.

4. It is the ultimate source of energy for life on Earth.

5. Its diameter is 14 lakh km.

6. It is composed of 71% Hydrogen, 26.5% Helium, and 2.5% other elements.

7. Hydrogen and Helium are the main gases present in the Sun.

8. Within the Sun, hydrogen is converted to Helium due to nuclear fusion releasing a tremendous amount of heat and light.

9. It has a surface temperature of about 6000° C.

10. The temperature at the center is around 15,000,000° C.

11. Shining surface of the sun is called the photosphere, it appears like a disc, radiates energy, and acts as a source of energy.

12. The outer layer of the sun's atmosphere made up of thin hot gases, is called Corona. Corona is visible only during a total eclipse of the sun (or with a special solar telescope called Coronagraph).

13. The planet travels with the sun through millions of stars in our galaxy at a speed of about 70,000 km per hour.

14. The Sun is about 150 million km away from the Earth.

15. Light (at the speed of 300,000 km per second) takes about 8.5 minutes to reach the Earth from the Sun.

The Planets

1. These are opaque bodies that continuously revolve around and are lighted by the Sun.

2. There are eight planets in the Solar system.

3. A ninth planet has been recently discovered by NASA named Carla.

4. The sequence of planets according to their distance from the Sun is